Terrific Tales from Terry Tyler

TerryTwit2Today I am delighted to welcome the best-selling independent author Terry Tyler, whose books get so many positive reviews that Amazon are running out of stars. She’s a pretty lady and a talented writer, so let’s find out a little more about which questions she chose, and what makes her tick.

Ok first question Terry. What is your favourite smell?

When first I read this question I thought of the smells that everyone loves, like freshly ground coffee, rain in the air, or onions frying when you’re hungry, etc.  Then there are the smells that remind you of things – the perfume that plunges you straight back to a torrid love affair of one’s younger days; oh, Giorgio in 1988… (Giorgio was the name of the perfume, not the guy…)

Next I considered the smell of creosote on a fence, which brings back memories of childhood – Dad was a great fan of creosote.  But the one I came up with is this, though it’s actually four favourite smells, I suppose.

It’s that smell in the air a little before a season changes.  Do you know what I mean?  I don’t know if everyone experiences this or not, but in January I always smell spring for the first time, and in August I smell autumn.  It’s usually just for a brief moment, but it makes me realise that the next season is on its way, and I love it.  It brings back the memory of other autumns and springs in previous years.  I find I’ve forgotten how each one smells until I smell it again.  I can’t even put my finger on what it is.  I’d love to know if everyone else knows what I mean, or if I’m just weird!

I know exactly what you mean,Terry. I’ve experienced the first touch of it today, as a matter of fact, with the snow melted, the sun shining (back from Australia for a flying visit) birds singing, and the scent of … well, change in the air.

So, on to the next question. If you could be reborn into a different period in history, which would it be?

I love this question, as it’s something I’ve always thought about a lot.  There are so many periods in history and different settings therein that I would love to experience – I’d like to be an aristocrat in England in Downton Abbey days, a wandering minstrel in the middle ages, a gangster’s Moll in 1930s America … but the one I choose here is to have been born about 10/15 years before I was, in London, so that I would know what it was like to be a child growing up in the halcyon days of the 1950s, when everyone was in black and white and spoke with BBC accents.  This would mean, of course, that I would be a teenager/young woman in the 1960s!  Twitterpic2When I was a child, out shopping in town with my parents, I used to look at the young groovy people  – the girls with their long hair and mini skirts and hipster trousers, guys with equally long hair, afghan coats, purple loons – note to anyone reading this who was born later than 1974: loons are very tight trousers that flare out massively from the knee!  How I longed to be that age and be cool and groovy, too!  I’d love to have experienced Swinging London in the ‘60s.  What a time to be young!

That was me you saw walking by, Terry – don’t you remember? The tall bearded guy with granny glasses and fair hair down to his shoulders like yours in the photo! I had flaired jeans which were patched all over with so many different materials there was hardly any denim left. Surely you haven’t forgotten? I smiled at you and gave you a sweet!

Anyway, talking about artistic things, who is your favourite artist/sculptor?

FloodedDunes1It’s so hard to pick just one!  I’d like to mention here an artist called George Debenham, who lives in Cromer, in Norfolk (in the UK!)   I used to live in this lovely seaside town, and George had a gallery there called Theo’s where he used to display his work and that of many other local artists – there are many in Norfolk.  George paints wonderful pictures of the sea and sky.  I used to have a few prints of his stuff – I could look at them for hours, they’re magical.  The gallery is closed now, I believe, but I’m sure his paintings are still to be seen in many similar around Norfolk.

A very romantic picture. What sort of family do you come from?  Tell us about an interesting ancestor. 

This is probably a weird question to answer as I don’t have any!  But my cousin Susan has spent years putting together the family tree of my mother’s side of the family.  She has the whole thing displayed on a huge wall in her house, going right back to the 17th century; there are even photographs of some of my late relatives from the 19th century.  It’s fascinating to try to see the family resemblances.  Every so often Susan holds family reunions, and she keeps up with all new additions to the family, with photographs of the babies as they are born.  She is a little older than me (ie, in her late 50s), and I hope one of her children will keep it up when our generation are all dead and gone.  Mind you, I won’t care then, anyway, will I?

An interesting ancestor?  There are a few claims to fame in the family but my favourite one is this:

(Warning – this will mean much to lovers of rock music, and, shall we say, slightly less to non-believers!)OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister, not an ancestor but still living and @ProofreadJulia on Twitter (!), used to run Aerosmith’s European fan club, and met them all on many occasions.  One Saturday night, in about 1995, she was sitting at home watching telly, when she had a phone call from Steven Tyler.  He rang her up because he wanted to discuss how the fan club was being doing.  They talked for about half an hour; he only cut the conversation off because he had to ‘take the kids rollerblading’.  When she rang me up to tell me about it her voice was very still and calm; I could tell she was in complete shock.  Aerosmith was and still is the favourite band of both of us – not many rock chicks get to run the fan club of their idols and receive phone calls from them, do they??!

Oh, and I also know someone who’s slept with Slash of Guns ‘N’ Roses, but we won’t go into that…..

That sounds like a whole new blogpost. Or maybe a chapter in one of your novels -they’re full of stuff like that aren’t they? Anyway, here they are on a bookshelf, side by side. 

Nobody'sFault13-June2012Master-copyThe-Other-Side13master-copyYouwishDream-On-CoverArt11

The UK links are: Nobody’s Fault, The Other Side, You Wish, Dream On.

The US Links are:  Nobody’s Fault, The Other Side, You Wish, Dream On

Tim, thank you very much for asking me onto Tim’s Curious Questions. It was really hard to choose four. I hope you enjoyed reading my answers.

Did you enjoy this interview? Subscribe to my blog and you won’t miss the next one! It’s easy: just enter your email address in the upper right hand corner of this page. And don’t worry – I’ll never sell, share or rent your contact information. That’s a promise!

About Tim Vicary

Author
This entry was posted in Tim's Curious Questions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Terrific Tales from Terry Tyler

  1. Terry Tyler says:

    Mwah for this, Tim!!! Incidentally, I started trying to be hip and groovy as soon as I could, and in 1973 acquired a sleeveless afghan, and a pair of red velvet loons… !! :) The bottoms of the red velvet loons later became stitched onto some jeans…. dear oh dear!! :)

  2. Tim Vicary says:

    Yep.There’s a lot of sewing involved in looking cool – at least there was, before people just ripped things!

  3. lindamac1 says:

    Good questions – less predictable; thought provoking. And I can relate to some of the answers – being a child of the seventies! I don’t think I would have liked to have been born sooner though. The sixties were very exciting, but there was a lot of naivity and risk-taking. Teenagers were more wised-up by the seventies so even if they took risks, it was from a more knowledgeable perspective. Also the struggle for equality for women in the workplace was still in its infancy in the sixties. Great post!

  4. Terry Tyler says:

    Yes, I take your point re the women’s equality thing. To be truthful, though, the age was born in is the best, I think – this is only a light-hearted answer; though. Also, a time is never quite as groovy as it seems in retropspect – I remember a girl saying to me, it must have been fabulous growin up in the 70s! But it wasn’t, it was just… normal. But then I suppose seeing bands like AC/DC and Judas Priest for 90 in small venues was pretty good….

  5. Terry Tyler says:

    …. sorry, that doesn’t make sense, I mean the age ‘I’ was born in – Tim, no edit/delete facility on here for commente, sort it aaaaaart, mate!!! :D And thank you for reading, LInda!!! xx

  6. Hey Terry. Enjoyed reading your answers. I’m a 70′s child too. Iused to hate looking back on the 70′s but now i realise how much i love the music and still do! I had so much fun at our local Rock disco, The Winning Post in Twickenham in the late 70′s. And I so know what you mean about the smell of season change! If you’re weird then so am I!

  7. Terry Tyler says:

    Thanks for reading, Paul – glad to know I’m not alone in all this! Twas a different world, then, tho…. nostalge, nostalge!

    • Hi Terry, I only just picked this up. I was looking for something else entirely. I missed it when Tim interviewed you. So nice to learn a bit more about you. Love your artist friend’s picture.
      I WAS that child born in the late 40s when we were all black and white. I missed out on the hippiedom but did it later. Well, still am doing it.
      Better get on with what I’m supposed to be doing. See you later

Leave a Reply

